The Zoo…

I took the kids to the zoo today to get out of the house and get some practice. I was excited to get out there and take some great animal photographs, however, when I got home and looked at the pictures, I quickly became disappointed. Most of them looked like regular snapshots, nothing special. I think I had five pictures that I liked out of over 200!! Luckily, we live in a digital age and I don’t have to get those developed. I don’t know how people did it before digital cameras. Anyway, feeling defeated I went to one of my favorite photography websites to look for advice.  Here are some tips that I received from some wonderful, experienced photographers:

1) Go alone. Don’t take your family or friends. You’ll be too busy chatting and you won’t be able to focus on taking pictures.

2) Get to the zoo when they open the gates. It will be less crowded and the lighting won’t be as harsh.

3) You need to go to the zoo more than once.  Try going once or twice a month and pick one or two animals to focus on.

4) Be Patient and have fun!!

Leave a Reply

